AIS-R LibGuides: Global Politics: Introductory Resources

Useful Websites

Human Rights Bibliography
This course syllabus from the University of Illinois provides an excellent list of primary documents and authoritative secondary sources on human rights.
Human Rights Introduction and Theories
"This article examines the philosophical basis and content of the doctrine of human rights. The analysis consists of five sections and a conclusion." Sections examine contemporary human rights issues, historical origins, and philosophical implications. There is also a list of references and suggestions for further reading.

Helpful Youtube Videos

This video from Edeos education provides a general overview of Human Rights and the dimensions of Human Rights protected by the UN International Bill of Human Rights.

This is a short video from HumanRights.com. It provides a brief history of the evolution of human rights from ancient times to the UN's Universal Declaration of Human Rights. A definition and summary of universal human rights is offered.

Organizations

Amnesty International
Amnesty International describes their role: "through our detailed research and determined campaigning, we help fight abuses of human rights worldwide. We bring torturers to justice. Change oppressive laws. And free people jailed just for voicing their opinion". The website includes educational resources, such as online courses and documents.
Human Rights Watch
Human rights watch is described: "Established in 1978, Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups". The website includes current human rights issues as well as educational resources.
Youth for Human Rights
"Youth for Human Rights International teaches human rights education both in the classroom and in nontraditional educational settings. We aim to reach people from diverse backgrounds, with materials which often appeal across generations". Specifically aimed for youth, this website includes informational videos and other resources.
The United Nations
The United Nations is an organization that promoted international co-operation. It is the creator of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other primary documents that may beneficial to research.

An online video course

"Allversity is a gathering place for people to learn, teach, and connect using free digital courses and tools. Come join our community in creating a brighter future while enjoying the simple magic of learning." This video-based course is a sequence of 20 short videos that explain the basic concepts, tenets, theories, and defining documents of the study of Human Rights. Videos on several case studies are also included.

Books in the library

International Human Rights by Jack Donnelly
ISBN: 9780813345024
Publication Date: 2012-07-22
"An introduction to human rights issues; discussing the challenges posed by the war on terrorism and globalization and the impact of these issues on multilateral international and national foreign policies; with case studies of human rights violations in Chile, Argentina, South Africa, El Salvador, Nicaragua, China, and Bosnia." EBOOK
Atlas of Human Rights by Andrew Fagan
ISBN: 9780520261235
Publication Date: 2010-08-02
"Examines human rights inequalities around the world and discusses their consequences worldwide."
Human Rights by Andrew Clapham
ISBN: 9780199205523
Publication Date: 2007-08-06
This overview of human includes information about a variety of topics including torture, detention, privacy, discrimination
What Are Human Rights? by Joseph Harris
ISBN: 9781848376861
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
"An introduction to human rights issues, providing background information on various problems, and offering a range of solutions for each. Includes time lines, maps, and primary sources."

Journals

This following journals may be accessed through the school library's database subscriptions. Please visit the library or the library website for more information.

Human Rights Quarterly
"Human Rights Quarterly (HRQ) is widely recognized as the leader in the field of human rights. For more than a quarter of a century, HRQ has published articles by experts from around the world writing for the specialist and non-specialist alike. The Quarterly provides up-to-date information on important developments within the United Nations and regional human rights organizations, both governmental and non-governmental. It presents current work in human rights research and policy analysis, reviews of related books, and philosophical essays probing the fundamental nature of human rights as defined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. HRQ has been nominated for the prestigious National Magazine Award for reporting."
Human Rights Review
"Human Rights Review is an interdisciplinary journal which provides a scholarly forum in which human rights issues and their underlying empirical, theoretical and philosophical foundations are explored. The journal seeks to place human rights practices and policies within a theoretical perspective in order to link empirical research to broader human rights issues. Human Rights Review welcomes submissions from all academic areas in order to foster a wide-ranging dialogue on issues of concern to both the academic and the policy-making communities. The journal is receptive to submissions drawing from diverse methodologies and approaches including case studies, quantitative analysis, legal scholarship and philosophical discourse in order to provide a comprehensive discussion concerning human rights issues."