Home - Grade 7 Humanities - Humans and the Environment - AIS-R LibGuides at Regional Association of Independent International Schools

Useful Databases

Click for database USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisr.org account to access the above password document.

BrainPop This link opens in a new window username: aisredupassword: box990
Explora Primary This link opens in a new window Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Points of View This link opens in a new window username: ns129350password: password
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
WebPath Express This link opens in a new window WebPath Express is a safe, credible and fun educational search tool for PreK-12 students and teachers. WebPath Express integrates more than 85,000 trustworthy, relevant websites into your library catalog while filtering out questionable and irrelevant content.

Evaluating Websites CRAAP

Basic Search Strategies

How to debate or write persuasively

Persuasive Essay Example
An example of a persuasive essay arguing the pros and cons of summer vacation.
Persuasive Writing
Tips from the BBC about how to argue, persuade, and advise.

Great websites

Evaluating Sources of Information

5Ws of website Evaluation

Evaluate a Website using CRAAP

NoodleTools

NoodleTools link for iPads
Climate Change
Basic information about climate change from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA.gov)

In the Library

We have lots of books in the library that explore the PROS and CONS of specific issues. There are too many to list! Click HERE to visit the library catalog and search from your classroom or home.

Breakfast on Mars and 37 Other Delectable Essays by Brad Wolfe (Editor); Rebecca Stern (Editor) Contains thirty-eight essays, including persuasive, informative, literary, personal and illustrated essays, written by popular authors that were given a writing prompt on a variety of subjects, such as, the merits of having a tail, time machines, space colonization, superpowers, and more
ISBN: 9781250044464
Publication Date: 2014-06-24

Research Project - step by step

Rutgers RIOT
An EXCELLENT series of video tutorial that break down how to do a research project from start to finish. If you only watch one video LET THIS BE THE ONE!!!!!!!!!! Start with Module 1 and work your way up to Module 5.

Search Strategies

Use these search shortcuts:

AND

"phrase searching"

-blogs

site:kids

child*

Grade 7 Humanities - Humans and the Environment: Home