Language and Gender - Language and Literature - Language in Cultural Context - AIS-R LibGuides at Regional Association of Independent International Schools

Research Databases

Click for database USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisr.org account to access the above password document.

Ebscohost Research Databases This link opens in a new window Ebscohost provides access to a variety of academic databases which each hold thousands of full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles. An excellent source of reliable information for student research projects.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window The joy of learning, at home or on the go. Whether you need homework help, background for a business proposal, or you simply want to learn, Britannica delivers trusted information wherever you want it, wherever you need it, in new and enjoyable ways.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

Videos

Useful Websites and Articles

Sexist Job Titles and the Influence of Language on Gender Stereotypes
An article from BY University on a professor's research into job titles and the stereotypes that occur due to perceptions formed by sexist language.
Stereotypes and Biased Language - OWL Purdue
An article from OWL Purdue about biased and gendered language. It provides alternative descriptions to make language more inclusive.
Sweden's 'gender-neutral' pre-school
From the BBC, an article about a pre-school in Sweden where teachers use gender-neutral language.
Sweden is about to add a gender-neutral pronoun to its official dictionary - Washington Post
An article from the Washington Post about the addition of a gender-neutral pronoun to the Swedish dictionary.
What is Gender-Biased Language?
Questions and answers from St. Michael's College about the definition of gender-biased language.

Fighting Words
Title yourself “Mx” on your gas bill – because small acts of linguistic rebellion can change the world
Guidelines on Gender-Neutral Language UNESCO
From UNESCO, provides guidelines for how to avoid gender bias and insensitive language.

Videos

In the Library

The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf
Call Number: 305.42 WOL
ISBN: 9780060512187
Publication Date: 2002-09-24
Chronicles the history of the beauty myth and reveals its newly sophisticated function at home and at work.
Gender, Language and Discourse by Ann Weatherall
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780203988817
Publication Date: 2005-07-05
"Is language sexist? Do women and men speak different languages? ...[This resource]...examines the contribution that psychological research--in particular, discursive psychology--has made to answering these questions"--Amazon.com.
Language and Gender by Jennifer Coates (Editor); Pia Pichler
Call Number: 306.44 LAN
ISBN: 9781405191272
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
Explores gender differences in pronunciation and grammar and in conversational practice.
Sexed Texts: Language, Gender and Sexuality by Paul Baker
ISBN: 9781845530747
Publication Date: 2008-06-20
Explores the complex role that language plays in the construction of sexuality and gender, drawing on a range of theoretical perspectives and published research including performativity theory, feminism, queer studies, psychoanalytical theory, Marxism, social constructionism, and essentialism.

Language and Literature - Language in Cultural Context: Language and Gender

Guiding Questions

Research Databases

Videos

Useful Websites and Articles

Videos

In the Library

Always #LikeAGirl