AIS-R LibGuides: Middle School Discovery: Home

Research Databases

Click for database USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisr.org account to access the above password document.

BrainPop This link opens in a new window Learn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window The joy of learning, at home or on the go. Whether you need homework help, background for a business proposal, or you simply want to learn, Britannica delivers trusted information wherever you want it, wherever you need it, in new and enjoyable ways.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Kids InfoBits This link opens in a new window Kids InfoBits is the perfect educational product for today's young learners. It is a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. The modern design and simple navigation makes it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching.
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window The award-winning Teen Health & Wellness provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular, and self-help support. Articles are correlated to state, national, and provincial standards, including Common Core Health and Science.  Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, and more.

Videos

GIN Links

Global Issues Network
Links about the SDGs from the high school Global Issues Network club.

UN Links

UN Sustainable Development Goals Book Club
Join the UN's SDG Book club. Read 17 books in 17 months about the 17 SDGs. The #SDGBookClub helps children learn about the Sustainable Development Goals.
170 Actions to Transform the World
Get inspired by 170 Actions to Transform Our World! This book contains 10 daily suggestions for each Goal on how you can make a difference in the world around you. A great tool for parents, teacher and children of all ages.

Idea Generators

No idea where to start? Check out some of these links.

In the library

The Kid's Guide to Service Projects by Barbara A. Lewis
Call Number: 361.3 LEW
ISBN: 1575423383
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Encourages young people to become involved in community service projects, with more than five hundred ideas for different ways they can serve their communities, including suggestions for working with animals, protecting the environment, improving health, helping the homeless and elderly, celebrating holidays, and aiding in community development.
Education, Poverty, and Inequality by John Perritano; Ruud van Dijk (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781422236369
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
"Explores economic hardship in the aftermath of World War II, the challenges facing newly independent nations in terms of poverty, inequality, and development, and how the major powers in the Cold War approached social welfare policy. It also examines how the nations of the developing world have grown in strength even as they have struggled with nagging development issues. The United Nations, including its Millennium Development Goals, also takes center stage, as does the effect of globalization on peoples livelihoods and economic prospects"--Amazon.com.

Middle School Discovery: Home

Quotes about learning

Embarking on a personal journal of inquiry and the SDGs?

Quotes to inspire you!

"It is not that I’m so smart. But I stay with the questions much longer." –Albert Einstein

"A well-educated mind will always have more questions than answers." –Helen Keller

"You don't have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great." –Zig Ziglar

"Everything we know has its origins in questions.
Questions, we might say, are the principal intellectual instruments available to human beings."
–Neil Postman

"Questions you cannot answer are usually far better for you than answers you cannot question."
–Yuval Noah Harari

Research Databases

Videos

GIN Links

UN Links

Other Links

Idea Generators

In the library

Middle School Discovery: Home

Quotes about learning

Embarking on a personal journal of inquiry and the SDGs?

Quotes to inspire you!

"It is not that I’m so smart. But I stay with the questions much longer." –Albert Einstein

"A well-educated mind will always have more questions than answers." –Helen Keller

"You don't have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great." –Zig Ziglar

"Everything we know has its origins in questions. Questions, we might say, are the principal intellectual instruments available to human beings." –Neil Postman

"Questions you cannot answer are usually far better for you than answers you cannot question." –Yuval Noah Harari

Research Databases

Videos

GIN Links

UN Links

Other Links

Idea Generators

In the library

"Everything we know has its origins in questions.
Questions, we might say, are the principal intellectual instruments available to human beings."
–Neil Postman

"Questions you cannot answer are usually far better for you than answers you cannot question."
–Yuval Noah Harari