Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the World Book Online
Earth can be divided into several large systems called spheres. The solid Earth consists of a thin outer layer called the crust. A thick rocky layer called the mantle lies beneath the crust. The crust and the upper portion of the mantle make up a layer of rock called the lithosphere. Much of Earth is covered by a layer of water or ice, called the hydrosphere. Earth is surrounded by a thin layer of air, the atmosphere. The portion of the hydrosphere, atmosphere, and lithosphere that serves as home to life is called the biosphere.
Read more HERE
Article Source: Bierman, Paul R. "Earth." World Book Student, World Book, 2017, www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id=ar171540.
Image Source: IPCC,. "Schematic View Of The Components Of The Climate System, Their Processes And Interactions." http://www.ipcc.ch/publications_and_data/ar4/wg1/en/faq-1-2.html.
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new windowStudent Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
BrainPop This link opens in a new windowLearn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
WebPath Express This link opens in a new windowWebPath Express is a safe, credible and fun educational search tool for PreK-12 students and teachers. WebPath Express integrates more than 85,000 trustworthy, relevant websites into your library catalog while filtering out questionable and irrelevant content.
Exploratorium - Climate change research explorer
At this Web site, you can explore scientific data relating to the atmosphere, the oceans, the areas covered by ice and snow, and the living organisms in all these domains. You’ll also get a sense of how scientists study natural phenomena—how researchers gather evidence, test theories, and come to conclusions.
Interactions in the Earth System
Examples of interactions between spheres.
The Earth System
PDF about Earth's spheres.
Earth System Science
Information about the interactions between Earth's spheres.
Interactions of the hydrophere
It is important to realise that the hydrosphere is not an isolated system, but rather interacts with other global systems, including the atmosphere, lithosphere and biosphere.
Cryosphere, Atmosphere, and Climate
The Division Cryosphere, Atmosphere, and Climate aims at promoting collaborative work and discussion among cryosphere, atmosphere and climate scientists, stimulate model-data comparisons and exchange of information throughout different space time scales.
NASA's Visible Earth
A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Research from U.S NOAA about Earth's oceans and atmosphere.
Use these shortcuts to find the information you need:
atmosphere AND hydrosphere AND interactions
atmosphere AND interaction OR research
In the Library
Climate Change by
Call Number: 363.738 BRE
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Call Number: 551.6 DES
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Call Number: 333.95 DES
Publication Date: 2007-11-01