It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grade 6 Humanities - Endangered Animals: Home
Resources for your unit on Endangered Animals
From the Encyclopedia Britannica - Description of the Problem
How Plants and Animals Become Endangered
Animals and plants depend on each other and their environment to survive. When their environment, or habitat, changes or disappears, plants and animals may become endangered. Natural disasters or changes in the climate can harm or destroy habitats.
Humans can cause species to become endangered as well. Humans pollute habitats with garbage, car fumes, and factory wastes. They destroy habitats by clearing land for roads, buildings, and farms. They also may hunt and kill too many of certain types of animals.
The arrival of a new species in a habitat is another threat. Often the new species spreads freely because it has no natural enemies. The species already in the habitat may not be able to compete against the newcomer. For example, mongooses brought to Jamaica in the 1800s killed many native animals.
You must be logged into your @aisr.org account to access the above password document.
BrainPopThis link opens in a new windowLearn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
Encyclopedia BritannicaThis link opens in a new windowThe joy of learning, at home or on the go. Whether you need homework help, background for a business proposal, or you simply want to learn, Britannica delivers trusted information wherever you want it, wherever you need it, in new and enjoyable ways.
Explora PrimaryThis link opens in a new windowSimple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research.
Funk & Wagnalls New EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowProvides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry. Perfect for homework help and research.
Kids InfoBitsThis link opens in a new windowKids InfoBits is the perfect educational product for today's young learners. It is a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. The modern design and simple navigation makes it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching.
Points of ViewThis link opens in a new windowPoints of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Science Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Student Resources in ContextThis link opens in a new windowStudent Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
WebPath ExpressThis link opens in a new windowWebPath Express is a safe, credible and fun educational search tool for PreK-12 students and teachers. WebPath Express integrates more than 85,000 trustworthy, relevant websites into your library catalog while filtering out questionable and irrelevant content.
An endangered species is a type of organism that is threatened by extinction. Species become endangered for two main reasons: loss of habitat and loss of genetic variation. Read more at the National Geographic Encyclopedia.