AIS-R LibGuides: Fake News: Home

Databases

Click for database USERNAMES and PASSWORDS

BrainPop This link opens in a new window Learn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
Ebscohost Research Databases This link opens in a new window Ebscohost provides access to a variety of academic databases which each hold thousands of full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles. An excellent source of reliable information for student research projects.
Explora Primary This link opens in a new window Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research.
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Points of View This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window The award-winning Teen Health & Wellness provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular, and self-help support. Articles are correlated to state, national, and provincial standards, including Common Core Health and Science.  Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, and more.
WebPath Express This link opens in a new window WebPath Express is a safe, credible and fun educational search tool for PreK-12 students and teachers. WebPath Express integrates more than 85,000 trustworthy, relevant websites into your library catalog while filtering out questionable and irrelevant content.

Check Your Facts

Here are 10 great sites to help you check facts and identify bias. Descriptions of these sites are Jennifer Snelling at ITSE

AllSides
While not a fact-checking site, AllSides curates stories from right, center and left-leaning media so that readers can easily compare how bias influences reporting on each topic.
FactCheck.org
This nonpartisan, nonprofit project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by U.S. political players, including politicians, TV ads, debates, interviews and news releases.
Know Your Meme
Know Your Meme is a website dedicated to documenting Internet phenomena: viral videos, image macros, catchphrases, web celebs and more.
Media Matters
This nonprofit and self-described liberal-leaning research center monitors and corrects conservative misinformation in the media.
News Busters
A project of the conservative Media Research Center, NewsBusters is focused on “documenting, exposing and neutralizing liberal media bias.”
Open Secrets
This nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit website run by the Center for Responsive Politics tracks how much and where candidates get their money.
Politifact.
This Pulitzer Prize winning website rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials. Run by editors and reporters from the independent newspaper Tampa Bay Times, Politicfact features the Truth-O-Meter that rates statements as “True,” “Mostly True,” “Half True,” “False,” and “Pants on Fire.”
ProPublica
This independent, nonprofit newsroom has won several Pulitzer Prizes, including the 2016 Prize for Explanatory Reporting. ProPublica produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
Snopes
This independent, nonpartisan website run by professional researcher and writer David Mikkelson researches urban legends and other rumors. It is often the first to set the facts straight on wild fake news claims.
The Sunlight Foundation
This nonpartisan, nonprofit organization uses public policy data-based journalism to make politics more transparent and accountable.
Washington Post Fact Checker.
Although the Washington Post has a left-center bias, its checks are excellent and sourced. The bias shows up because they fact check conservative claims more than liberal ones.

Videos

Here’s How Fake News Works (and How the Internet Can Stop It)
From Wired.com. Many fake news peddlers didn’t care if Trump won or lost the election. They only wanted to pocket money. But the consequences of what they did shook the world. This is how it happened.
How to Spot Fake News (and Teach Kids to Be Media-Savvy)
From Common Sense Media. Clickbait, hyper-partisan opinion, and completely false information are running wild across the internet.
CNN 10 - Fake News
From CNN. We have a special edition today centered on the advent of fake news: Who is creating it, why is it being spread, and what kind of impact is it having?

Fake News: Home

From Student Resources In Context

Databases

Check Your Facts

Videos

Infographic