Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThe joy of learning, at home or on the go. Whether you need homework help, background for a business proposal, or you simply want to learn, Britannica delivers trusted information wherever you want it, wherever you need it, in new and enjoyable ways.
Kids InfoBits This link opens in a new windowKids InfoBits is the perfect educational product for today's young learners. It is a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. The modern design and simple navigation makes it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching.
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
Source Reliability from Schmoop
Reliable Debate Websites
School Uniforms - POV Database
Some resources on school uniforms from the Points of View Database. Very reliable! Login with the login information in the database box.
School Uniforms - ProCon.org
Procon.org is a debate website with information from both sides of an issue. However, it is not always correct. Verify information you find on this site in another source.
Footnotes and Sources from Procon.org
This is a list of sources from which Procon.org gathered information for their page on school uniforms. Visit any one of these sources to find more information about school uniforms.
School Uniforms - Kialo
This websites has some opinions stated on both sides of the issue HOWEVER, no research is cited. You can use this website to gather some initial ideas, but more research must be done to verify evidence for your opinion.
Junk Food in Cafeterias - POV database
Information about the debate regarding the quality of foods in the cafeteria.
Facts about school nutrition
Facts from the National Education Association
Benefits of Mindfulness in Schools
Information from Mindful Schools about the benefits of doing mindful activities at school. This is from an organization that promotes mindfulness so the information presented will support their POV.
Which Is More Important–Grades or Extracurricular Activities?
Advice from a college counseling company. It does not reference any research.
In the Library
Persuasive Writing by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Contains twenty-one lessons in persuasive writing, covering how to write for different purposes and including grammar reviews, examples, and sample responses. Login using your Skyward/Moodle username and password.
How to Write Persuasively Today by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2010-02-26
Provides guidance on persuasive writing for a variety of situations, and discusses challenges, issues, and pitfalls. Login with your Skyward/Moodle username and password.
Check Your Facts
Here are 10 great sites to help you check facts and identify bias. Descriptions of these sites are Jennifer Snelling at ITSE
While not a fact-checking site, AllSides curates stories from right, center and left-leaning media so that readers can easily compare how bias influences reporting on each topic.
This nonpartisan, nonprofit project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by U.S. political players, including politicians, TV ads, debates, interviews and news releases.
Know Your Meme
Know Your Meme is a website dedicated to documenting Internet phenomena: viral videos, image macros, catchphrases, web celebs and more.
This nonprofit and self-described liberal-leaning research center monitors and corrects conservative misinformation in the media.
A project of the conservative Media Research Center, NewsBusters is focused on “documenting, exposing and neutralizing liberal media bias.”
This nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit website run by the Center for Responsive Politics tracks how much and where candidates get their money.
This Pulitzer Prize winning website rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials. Run by editors and reporters from the independent newspaper Tampa Bay Times, Politicfact features the Truth-O-Meter that rates statements as “True,” “Mostly True,” “Half True,” “False,” and “Pants on Fire.”
This independent, nonprofit newsroom has won several Pulitzer Prizes, including the 2016 Prize for Explanatory Reporting. ProPublica produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
This independent, nonpartisan website run by professional researcher and writer David Mikkelson researches urban legends and other rumors. It is often the first to set the facts straight on wild fake news claims.
The Sunlight Foundation
This nonpartisan, nonprofit organization uses public policy data-based journalism to make politics more transparent and accountable.
Washington Post Fact Checker.
Although the Washington Post has a left-center bias, its checks are excellent and sourced. The bias shows up because they fact check conservative claims more than liberal ones.