Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new windowThe joy of learning, at home or on the go. Whether you need homework help, background for a business proposal, or you simply want to learn, Britannica delivers trusted information wherever you want it, wherever you need it, in new and enjoyable ways.
Kids InfoBits This link opens in a new windowKids InfoBits is the perfect educational product for today's young learners. It is a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. The modern design and simple navigation makes it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching.
Points of View This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new windowStudent Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Ms. Donaldson's presentation
In the Library
How to Fake a Moon Landing by
Call Number: 001.9 CUN
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
"Author-illustrator Darryl Cunningham looks at hot-button science topics and presents a fact-based, visual assessment of current thinking and research on eight different issues everybody's arguing about."--Provided by publisher.
Thinking Critically by
Call Number: 004.67 NAK
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Introduces issues related to video games and violence and examines the pros and cons of the debate.
The Ethics of Medical Testing by
Call Number: 174.2 ETH
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Contains thirteen essays that provide varying perspectives on the ethics of medical testing; debating the safety of medical testing; if prisoners, children, or animals should be test subjects; and other related topics.
Mass Media by
Call Number: 302.23 MAS
Publication Date: 2014-03-12
A collection of twenty-one essays that offers varying perspectives on issues relating to mass media.
Illegal Immigration by
Call Number: 325.73 KEN
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Offers a comprehensive overview of the issues surrounding illegal immigration in the United States, discussing key policies, current debates, historic events, and other related topics that have shaped the controversy and the government's response to it.
Gun Control by
Call Number: 363.33 MAG
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Traces the history of guns and gun control in U.S. history, describing the Second Amendment, and arguments for and against gun control.
The Death Penalty by
Call Number: 364.66 DEA
Publication Date: 2013-01-09
Contains essays that provide a variety of perspectives on questions of whether the death penalty should be legal, whether capital punishment is just, and if it is applied fairly.
Extreme Unmanned Vehicles by
Call Number: 623.74 MAH
Publication Date: 2015-07-15
Explores the world of extreme unmanned vehicles and looks at different extreme vehicles.
Check Your Facts
Here are 10 great sites to help you check facts and identify bias. Descriptions of these sites are Jennifer Snelling at ITSE
While not a fact-checking site, AllSides curates stories from right, center and left-leaning media so that readers can easily compare how bias influences reporting on each topic.
This nonpartisan, nonprofit project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by U.S. political players, including politicians, TV ads, debates, interviews and news releases.
Know Your Meme
Know Your Meme is a website dedicated to documenting Internet phenomena: viral videos, image macros, catchphrases, web celebs and more.
This nonprofit and self-described liberal-leaning research center monitors and corrects conservative misinformation in the media.
A project of the conservative Media Research Center, NewsBusters is focused on “documenting, exposing and neutralizing liberal media bias.”
This nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit website run by the Center for Responsive Politics tracks how much and where candidates get their money.
This Pulitzer Prize winning website rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials. Run by editors and reporters from the independent newspaper Tampa Bay Times, Politicfact features the Truth-O-Meter that rates statements as “True,” “Mostly True,” “Half True,” “False,” and “Pants on Fire.”
This independent, nonprofit newsroom has won several Pulitzer Prizes, including the 2016 Prize for Explanatory Reporting. ProPublica produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
This independent, nonpartisan website run by professional researcher and writer David Mikkelson researches urban legends and other rumors. It is often the first to set the facts straight on wild fake news claims.
The Sunlight Foundation
This nonpartisan, nonprofit organization uses public policy data-based journalism to make politics more transparent and accountable.
Washington Post Fact Checker.
Although the Washington Post has a left-center bias, its checks are excellent and sourced. The bias shows up because they fact check conservative claims more than liberal ones.