AIS-R LibGuides: Research Resources: Getting Started

Databases

Click for database USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisr.org account to access the above password document.

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry. Perfect for homework help and research.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Points of View This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

Research Starters

Ideas for Research Questions

50 Ideas to Get Started

Paper Topics

Qualities of a Good Research Question

1. Interesting to YOU!

2. Focused and manageable within the time/word limit

3. Offers something new (NOT descriptive or overdone)

4. Has context to narrow the topic (includes person, place, or time in history)

Strategies for defining a topic

Sometimes it can be overwhelming to come up with a topic and research question on your own. Here are some tips to help:

1. Develop a tentative focus. List what you know and want to know about a particular topic. Look at the questions that are most interesting to you.

2. Find background information on your topic. Read encyclopedias to get a general sense of your topic. As you read, you will learn more about your topic and you may come across a more specific focus you're interested in knowing more about.

3. Read magazine and newspapers. The articles are short and concise and can provide a general idea of key issues or controversies related to your topic.

4. Check out our Points of View Database. It lists a ton of controversial issues and provides reliable background information which might inspire you to learn more.

5. Read your textbooks. What have you learned in other classes that you'd like to know more about?

6. What's happening in your life? Where do you want to go to school? What job are you interested in? Where would you like to travel? Choose a topic that will apply to your life.

Written with material from the University of Illinois Libguides.

Add context to your question

War as a topic is too huge. So add some context to make it more narrow:

-People

-Place/Event

-Time

What was the significance of the Battle of the Bulge in the outcome of WWII?

Break it Down

I am studying...	because I want to find out...	so my readers understand...
WW2	about the Battle of the Bulge	why it was such an important battle

Bloom's Taxonomy

The bottom of this inverted triangle (Remembering) represents the lowest level of critical thinking and the least interesting or challenging research topics. Aim for the top of the pyramid (Creating, Evaluating, and Analyzing). Try to develop a question which requires you to design, defend, compare/contrast, etc....

Research Resources: Getting Started

Presentation