Home - Grade 10 English - Debate Resources - AIS-R LibGuides at Regional Association of Independent International Schools

From the Encyclopedia Britannica

A formal debate is an encounter between speakers or teams of speakers as an exercise in argumentation, or forensics. Since 1960, when U.S. presidential candidates John F. Kennedy and Richard M. Nixon met in a series of televised debates, debates have become commonplace in political campaigns, even for local offices. But these are not really debates in the formal sense. Only on occasion do the candidates respond to each other’s remarks, and such response is a key element of true debating.

In a formal debate, as practiced by high school and college debating clubs, each team presents arguments to support its side of a proposition and to refute the opposing side. The speakers must follow set procedures. The teams compete against each other, with judges deciding which team has presented its arguments more effectively.

Source:
"Debate." Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 11 Aug. 2018. school.eb.com/levels/high/article/debate/273940. Accessed 30 Oct. 2018.

Research Databases

Click for database USERNAMES and PASSWORDS

BrainPop This link opens in a new window Learn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window The joy of learning, at home or on the go. Whether you need homework help, background for a business proposal, or you simply want to learn, Britannica delivers trusted information wherever you want it, wherever you need it, in new and enjoyable ways.
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Points of View This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
WebPath Express This link opens in a new window WebPath Express is a safe, credible and fun educational search tool for PreK-12 students and teachers. WebPath Express integrates more than 85,000 trustworthy, relevant websites into your library catalog while filtering out questionable and irrelevant content.

Video

Check Your Facts

Here are 10 great sites to help you check facts and identify bias. Descriptions of these sites are Jennifer Snelling at ITSE

AllSides
While not a fact-checking site, AllSides curates stories from right, center and left-leaning media so that readers can easily compare how bias influences reporting on each topic.
FactCheck.org
This nonpartisan, nonprofit project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by U.S. political players, including politicians, TV ads, debates, interviews and news releases.
Know Your Meme
Know Your Meme is a website dedicated to documenting Internet phenomena: viral videos, image macros, catchphrases, web celebs and more.
Media Matters
This nonprofit and self-described liberal-leaning research center monitors and corrects conservative misinformation in the media.
News Busters
A project of the conservative Media Research Center, NewsBusters is focused on “documenting, exposing and neutralizing liberal media bias.”
Open Secrets
This nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit website run by the Center for Responsive Politics tracks how much and where candidates get their money.
Politifact.
This Pulitzer Prize winning website rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials. Run by editors and reporters from the independent newspaper Tampa Bay Times, Politicfact features the Truth-O-Meter that rates statements as “True,” “Mostly True,” “Half True,” “False,” and “Pants on Fire.”
ProPublica
This independent, nonprofit newsroom has won several Pulitzer Prizes, including the 2016 Prize for Explanatory Reporting. ProPublica produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
Snopes
This independent, nonpartisan website run by professional researcher and writer David Mikkelson researches urban legends and other rumors. It is often the first to set the facts straight on wild fake news claims.
The Sunlight Foundation
This nonpartisan, nonprofit organization uses public policy data-based journalism to make politics more transparent and accountable.
Washington Post Fact Checker.
Although the Washington Post has a left-center bias, its checks are excellent and sourced. The bias shows up because they fact check conservative claims more than liberal ones.

In the library

Socialization by Elizabeth Grauerholz; Elizabeth A. Swart
Call Number: 303.3 GRA
ISBN: 9780816083190
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Discusses how personal identity is shaped by culture, focusing on gender, race, social class, and adult socialization processes and outcomes.
Equality and Diversity by Charlie Ogden
Call Number: 305 OGD
ISBN: 9780778733485
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
"This book discusses why the acceptance of diversity is important in society to prevent discrimination based on race, religion, and sex. Includes case studies of real-world events."--Amazon.
Gender Equality and Identity Rights by Marie des Neiges Léonard
Call Number: 305.3 LEO
ISBN: 9781422236291
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Explores the issues surrounding gender equality and identity rights around the world.
Critical World Issues by Frank McDowell
Call Number: 305.8 MCD
ISBN: 9781422236529
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Explores the fundamental questions surrounding discrimination.
Racism by Lauri S. Friedman (Editor)
Call Number: 305.8 RAC
ISBN: 9780737732245
Publication Date: 2006-12-11
A collection of fourteen controversial essays that debate issues of racism in America addressing topics such as Affirmative Action, racial profiling, and school segregation.
Think Speak Win by Gaurav Keerthi
Call Number: 808.53 KEE
ISBN: 9789814328845
Publication Date: 2014-06-20
"Distills the complexities of debate into simple, memorable, easy-to follow components"--Back cover.

Grade 10 English - Debate Resources: Home

From the Encyclopedia Britannica

Research Databases

Video

Check Your Facts

In the library

Ms. Donaldson's Lesson