Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the World Book Online
Poverty is the lack of enough income and resources to live adequately by community standards. Many poverty-stricken people cannot afford the food, shelter, clothing, and medical care that they need. Poverty can cause suffering, malnutrition, poor health, and loss of life. It can also lead to feelings of frustration, hopelessness, and low self-esteem. Governments and private organizations have worked to reduce or eliminate poverty, but it remains a widespread problem. More than 1 billion people throughout the world live in poverty.
Allard, Scott W. "Poverty." World Book Student. World Book, 2016. Web. 14 Apr. 2016.
BrainPop Learn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
Explora Secondary Designed for high school students, students can look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects, or homework from the world’s leading magazines and reference materials.
Global Issues in Context Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Points of View Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Science Reference Center This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Teen Health & Wellness The award-winning Teen Health & Wellness provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular, and self-help support. Articles are correlated to state, national, and provincial standards, including Common Core Health and Science.
Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, and more.
WebPath Express WebPath Express is a safe, credible and fun educational search tool for PreK-12 students and teachers. WebPath Express integrates more than 85,000 trustworthy, relevant websites into your library catalog while filtering out questionable and irrelevant content.
UN Development Goals
On September 25th 2015, countries adopted a set of goals to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure prosperity for all as part of a new sustainable development agenda. Each goal has specific targets to be achieved over the next 15 years.
Malawi - Country Profile
Country profile from the BBC.
Rural poverty in Malawi
Information about poverty in Malawi
The Hunger Project
The Hunger Project in Malawi.