Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
“Historically, the most terrible things - war, genocide, and slavery - have resulted not from disobedience, but from obedience.” -Howard Zinn
Welcome Grade 7 researchers! Here you will find lots of resources to help with your Civil Disobedience Project. See the links below and click on the different pages to find your topic. Good luck!
BrainPop This link opens in a new windowLearn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
Ebscohost Research Databases This link opens in a new window Ebscohost provides access to a variety of academic databases which each hold thousands of full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles. An excellent source of reliable information for student research projects.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowDesigned to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Points of View This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new windowStudent Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Research Project - step by step
An EXCELLENT series of video tutorial that break down how to do a research project from start to finish. If you only watch one video LET THIS BE THE ONE!!!!!!!!!! Start with Module 1 and work your way up to Module 5.
In the Library
Civic Unrest by
Call Number: 303.4 LUS
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
Explores the history of civic unrest around the world, discussing protests, strikes, and revolutions.
Speech, Media, and Protest by
Call Number: 323.44 PAU
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
"The right to free speech and expression are a vital part of any democracy. Balancing these rights with other priorities-- such as national defense and the protection of minorities-- is an ongoing struggle both in the United States and in democracies across the globe.