Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the World Book Online
Green building is a structure designed and built in a way that limits its harm to the environment. Green building can also refer to the principles and guidelines builders and architects use in making such buildings. Green buildings typically use energy, land, and water more efficiently than do other buildings. They also tend to produce less waste and pollution. Their builders often choose materials that are recycled, that are made using few toxic chemicals, or that can be obtained from nature sustainably.Sustainable methods include those that do not cause lasting harm.
Read more HERE
Source: Bryan, Harvey. "Green building." World Book Student, World Book, 2017, www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id=ar753139. Accessed 9 Apr. 2017.
Image source: Design for a sustainable living space by Kyle Butler. Wikimedia Commons, 2008.
Global Issues in Context Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Points of View Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Science Reference Center This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Ebscohost Research Databases Ebscohost provides access to a variety of academic databases which each hold thousands of full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles. An excellent source of reliable information for student research projects.
Student Resources in Context Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Healthy Kids, Healthy Schools
Take action to improve children's health! EPA's comprehensive schools website offers all the resources you need to establish, maintain, or enhance a school environmental health program.
Saudi Green Building Forum
At Saudi Green Building Forum, our vision is to inspire people and honor places that are the blessings of our nation's legacy; our inheritance extended by green building and sustainability for safety, health and welfare of the humanity and environment for generations.
14 Sustainable Schools
View images from sustainable schools around the world.
Books in the Library
Green Cities by
Call Number: 307.76 GRE
Publication Date: 2011-01-18
Collects fourteen essays about sustainable urban development and urban ecology, discussing whether or not cities are sustainable environments, transportation, agriculture, architecture, and other related topics.
Environmental Engineering by
Call Number: eBook
A comprehensive resource on environmental engineering that examines how engineers work to improve the quality of the land, air, and water; and provides detailed information on aerodynamics, eco-friendly architecture, energy-efficient electronics, automobile innovations, solar homes, transit systems, wastewater, and more.
Environmental Engineering and the Science of Sustainability by
Call Number: 628 SNE
Publication Date: 2013-10-30
Discusses how environmental engineers work to protect the environment through their development.