Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the World Book Online
Growth of specialization. During the 1800's and through the mid-1900's, specialization in knowledge increased. Many colleges were created to train students in such fields as agriculture, medicine, engineering, and business. Specialization also resulted in an increased emphasis on advanced study. As a result, graduate schools were established at many larger schools. In turn, professional and research interests came to dominate all other educational interests. Education for professions overshadowed the liberal arts.
Read more HERE
Read about the rise of universities HERE
Source: Shannon, Daniel W. "Universities and colleges." World Book Student, World Book, 2017, www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id=ar577060. Accessed 26 Nov. 2017.
Databases and Encyclopedias
BrainPop Learn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
History Reference Center Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books. This content comes from leading history publishers such as Branden Publishing, Compass Point Books, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Rourke Publishing LLC, Salem Press, Stackpole Books, and Toucan Valley Publications.
Science Reference Center This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Student Resources in Context Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.