Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the World Book Online
Industrial Cities. From the 1500’s to the 1700’s, cities throughout the world grew and gradually changed. But the basic pattern of cities and city life was shaken in the 1700’s and early 1800’s, when a period of rapid industrialization called the Industrial Revolution took place. During this time, many cities in Europe and North America changed greatly. These communities—called industrial cities—became centers of large-scale manufacturing. The manufacturing boom resulted chiefly from the invention of steam engines and new machines. The machines could do the work of many people, and the steam engine easily powered the machines as well as railroads and ships. The expansion of trade among the nations of Europe and North America also aided the growth of manufacturing.
The Industrial Revolution caused dramatic changes in city life. Skilled craftworkers had trouble finding work because machines could make the same products quickly and cheaply. Instead, people in many cities worked in large factories, lived near the factories, and depended on manufacturing jobs for their livelihood. They were often overworked and poorly housed, though living conditions improved during the 1800’s and early 1900’s. Even people in cities with few factories became dependent on manufacturing. They often sold materials to the industrial plants or shipped finished products abroad.
Read more HERE
Source: Clark, Terry Nichols. "City." World Book Student, World Book, 2017, www.worldbookonline.com/student/article?id=ar116460. Accessed 26 Nov. 2017.
Databases and Encyclopedias
BrainPop Learn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
History Reference Center Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books. This content comes from leading history publishers such as Branden Publishing, Compass Point Books, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Rourke Publishing LLC, Salem Press, Stackpole Books, and Toucan Valley Publications.
Science Reference Center This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Student Resources in Context Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
In the library
Industrial Revolution by
Call Number: 330.973 PIE
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Provides a brief history of the Industrial Revolution in the United States, focusing on new processes and inventions in textile manufacturing, improvements in the steam engine and its applications, and mechanical means of transportation. Includes time line and glossary.
The Britannica Guide to Inventions That Changed the Modern World by
Call Number: 609 BRI
Publication Date: 2009-12-20
Discusses various inventions and innovations that have proven to be useful or crucial to development in modern times, covering areas such as communication; transportation; power and energy; building construction and civil engineering; medicine; military technology; observation and measurement; and agriculture and industry.
Key Discoveries in Engineering and Design by
Call Number: 609 ZUC
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
An introduction to engineering and design, discussing different inventions that have changed the world.
The Advent of Electricity, 1800-1900 by
Call Number: 537.09 SAM
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Examines key developments and discoveries in the scientific community in the nineteenth century and discusses how those discoveries brought people closer together and changed the way they lived.