Food Industry - World History - The Industrial Revolution - AIS-R LibGuides at Regional Association of Independent International Schools

From the World Book Online

The industrialization of agriculture. In the late 1700’s and early 1800’s, technology advanced rapidly in Britain (now also known as the United Kingdom). This period, called the Industrial Revolution, radically changed European and American society. It also led to the emergence of industrialized agriculture, which transformed farming across the world.

A number of new developments led to agriculture's dramatic increase in productivity. They include: (1) the invention of powered machines; (2) the development of electric power; (3) the study of agricultural genetics; (4) the use of artificial fertilizer; and (5) the development of chemical pesticides.

Databases and Encyclopedias

Click for database USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisr.org account to access the above password document.

BrainPop This link opens in a new window Learn about your body, space, science and health. Have your homework questions answered with a movie, ask for advice, or just browse and learn.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books. This content comes from leading history publishers such as Branden Publishing, Compass Point Books, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Rourke Publishing LLC, Salem Press, Stackpole Books, and Toucan Valley Publications.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards, and presents that material in the way most useful for students. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

Canning

Useful links

The Industrialization of Agriculture
From Student Resources in Context. Read about the effects of industrialization on agriculture.
Industrial Revolution
From the BBC. Read about the effects of the Industrial Revolution on many areas including manufacturing and agriculture.
How Canning Was Invented, and How It Changed the Way We Eat
A brief history of canning our food.
Historical Origins of Food Preservation
Read about the history of food preservation.
Modern Food Preservation
From the World Book Online. Read about the history of food preservation.

Videos

In the library

The World According to Monsanto by Marie-Monique Robin
Call Number: 338.7 ROB
ISBN: 9781595587091
Publication Date: 2012-01-03
Documentary filmmaker and journalist Marie-Monique Robin traces the history of the agribusiness leader Monsanto, focusing on how it has redesigned its image so that it is seen as more environmentally friendly and organic, when it is still one of the top producers of genetically modified ingredients.
The Britannica Guide to Inventions That Changed the Modern World by Robert Curley (Editor)
Call Number: 609 BRI
ISBN: 9781615300204
Publication Date: 2009-12-20
Discusses various inventions and innovations that have proven to be useful or crucial to development in modern times, covering areas such as communication; transportation; power and energy; building construction and civil engineering; medicine; military technology; observation and measurement; and agriculture and industry.
The History of Agriculture by Gini Gorlinski (Editor)
Call Number: 630.9 HIS
ISBN: 9781615309191
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Explores the history of agriculture, from how it began and early agricultural societies through the current techniques, technology, genetics, and pest control.